Chorizo and Potato Omelet

I am a HUGE breakfast person and anyone who knows me realizes breakfast is my favorite meal of the day! This morning I was in the mood for something delicious, filling…yet healthy. This morning in particular I was cooking for one, so adjust recipe as needed.

I remembered I had purchased “soy” chorizo (it was recommended by a friend). I probably would have never given or thought to give soy chorizo a try. The friend who recommended the chorizo is from Mexico (born and raised) and cooks pretty traditional (as far as I know) Mexican dishes. I figured if she’s recommending this type of chorizo it must be good or comparable to regular chorizo. I must say I’m not a huge fan of regular chorizo because I do find it to be too fatty. When I do cook with chorizo I use turkey chorizo. Enough rambling…onto breakfast!

INGREDIENTS:

DIRECTIONS:

Heat about 1 tbsp grapeseed oil in a pan on medium heat. Add the potatoes and a dash of salt & pepper. Let the potatoes cook on one side till crispy, then add the chorizo. Break up the chorizo into the potatoes (you can add chopped onions and garlic). Once the mixture is cooked (about 7 minutes) take out of the pan and place to the side.

Soy Chorizo and Potato Omelet (3)

In a separate bowl, beat 1 whole egg (I use organic eggs) and 1 egg white and add the tbsp. of milk. Do not add salt because the chorizo has enough salt and you already salted the potatoes. In the same pan you cooked the chorizo and potatoes pour the egg mixture. By cooking the eggs in the same pan they’ll pick up the flavor and the little bit of oil left behind.

Soy Chorizo and Potato Omelet (5)

Once cooked, flip the eggs over and on one half of the egg, add the chorizo, potato mixture and the cheese. Fold the other half over to cover the potato, chorizo & cheese. You should have a half circle. Once cooked plate and top with jalapeños, salsa, sour cream, etc…

Soy Chorizo and Potato Omelet (6)   Soy Chorizo and Potato Omelet (7)

Be sure to add a bit of fruit to your plate for a healthier start to your day! Enjoy your delicious breakfast with a yummy cup of coffe, my choice…Cafe Duran!  Buen Provecho!

One thought on “Chorizo and Potato Omelet

  1. Chorizos and potatoes are a great combination, but my favorite part on this pictues is the cup of ‘Cafe Duran’! gotta love a home sweet home treat!!

Leave a Reply

